“WAITING FOR SANDRA DEE”

Click here for Home

Photo by Genghis

MABEL’S PARKING LOT: Only 2 blocks from the East River.

LOOK AT ME, I’M SANDRA DEE


Look at me, I’m Sandra Dee

Lousy with virginity

Won’t go to bed ’til I’m legally wed

I can’t; I’m Sandra Dee

Elvis, Elvis, let me be!

Keep that pelvis far from me!

Just keep your cool

Now you’re starting to drool

Hey Fongool, I’m Sandra Dee!

************************************************

The winds are picking up. The rain is splattering on my apartment windows in the Lower East Side of NYC like mini-golf balls, and I hope that the glass holds. I’m sittin’ here waiting for Hurricane Sandy, and I hear that at her peak, that she’s gonna be a real bitch.

Hurricane She’s Not Sandra Dee, is an historic Perfect Storm as her hurricane storm elements will combine with a Nor’easter, making her twice as dangerous and twice as large as the run-of-the mill hurricane. When Sandy slams the east coast, which she will do with full force a few hours from now, the 36 hour duration of her hurricane winds mixed with rain and snow, will cause massive flooding in the New York City area, with a storm surge of 11 feet.

The storm barrier that holds the East River from invading land, is only 5 feet. You do the math. The East River has nowhere to go but up, and that translates to 6 feet of water surging over lower Manhattan’s river barriers, for at least 36 hours. You do the math, and you will compute mucho flooding of the land areas adjacent to the river.

Now, I’m on the twenty-first floor, so I’m not worried about water reaching my house (the term “house” is used parochially by New Yorkers to mean any home, whether apartment or actual house), even though my building is less than a block from the East River. Only the FDR Drive, a highway that runs along the river separates my building from the river.

Photo by Genghis



MABEL HIGH & DRY?: Waiting for Hurricane Sandy

However, my Harley 74, Mabel, whose parking lot is at ground level about two blocks away from the surging East River, is more at risk. I can only hope that those two blocks of buffer zone, is enough to keep Hurricane Sandra away from Mabel’s Avons. I think it will, but stay tuned! Hey Fongool, Sandra Dee! Later.

FINITO

3 thoughts on ““WAITING FOR SANDRA DEE””

  1. My 85 superglide has been underwater three times (once wile I was riding her).Drain and flush the oil well and you’ll be okay if worst comes to worst, but make sure she’s chained down to something solid,and I ain’t kidding.

Leave a comment